Skip to content

Joe Niermann and Eleanor McKay in Washington Spaces Magazine

March 3, 2009

Our Friend Jennifer at Washington Spaces recently wrote a wonderful article on my husband Joe and I for Washington Spaces Magazine:

Read the blog post here.

The article is all about American-made furniture in the DC region, and features Joe and I in our Millersville, MD factory.  Please feel free to leave comments for either Washington Spaces of for me!

Which also brings me to an AP article that ran in mid-February in many local and national publications about whether or not the United States manufactures anything anymore.

Read the Article here.

The thesis of the article can be summed up with this snippet:

“But manufacturing in the United States isn’t dead or even dying.  It’s moving upscale, following the biggest profits, and becoming more efficient, just like Henry Ford did when he created the assembly line to make the Model T.”

U.S. manufacturing companies, just like Niermann Weeks, are focused on high-end products and producing quality goods that other countries simply cannot.  Like the article states, for every $1 of value generated in a Chinese Factory, an American Factory will generate $2.50.  Supporting on-shore manufacturing adds value to the products that you buy, and Niermann Weeks manufactures all of our products by hand in the United States!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Rogers permalink
    March 22, 2009 8:56 pm

    Hi Eleanor,

    It’s been a long time since Madison, WI. Good to see you and Joe are doing well. (Sharyn Heili is history and I’m saner for it…)

    Say hi to Joe for me,

    -Jim

  2. March 30, 2009 4:31 pm

    Hi! Give me an email directly so we can catch up.

  3. Vibha Kowalski permalink
    November 21, 2010 3:24 pm

    Dear Joe and Eleanor,
    I will be visiting New York for a few weeks from November 23 to December 5.I now work and live in Spain.
    Would love to see you and catch up. Remember I use to paint panels for you when I lived in Pennsylvania.
    Love Vibha

  4. April 20, 2011 6:06 pm

    Hi Eleanor,
    My name is Lois Darling, and I am an interior designer in New Jersey. I have been a huge fan of Niermann Weeks products and go to your catalogue first when looking for unique, quality pieces for clients. I encourage my clients to buy American, so thank you for the AP link, which I will share. I recently posted on my facebook page a picture of a dining room I just completed for a client – and the star of the room is your Varennes Sideboard. It looks fabulous. I was wondering if I could tag/post the picture on the Niermann Weeks page?
    I look forward to hearing from you – and to every new Niermann Weeks collection to come.
    Warm regards,
    Lois Darling

Leave a Reply

